Mind the gap ensures victory in ORC Sportboat Europeans


2 June 2018

  In another day of light to moderate seabreeze and after winning this penultimate day’s two races at the ORC Sportboat European Championship 2018, the Italian team on the Fat 26 Mind the Gap Tempus Fugit have managed to defend their title earned in Chioggia in 2016 to be this year’s 2018 ORC Sportboat European Champions.

The team sailed with owners Edoardo Marangoni and Nicolò Cavallarin, with Enrico Zennaro at the helm and Slovenian Karlo Hmeljak on tactics.

The success of the team was built with almost perfect scores in the results of yesterday and today (1,2,1,1,1) which allowed the crew to discard the sixth place score obtained in the coastal race on Thursday.

With this performance, the Italian team mathematically eliminates any chance for victory by the runner-up team, Ugo Guarnieri’s Delta 84 Chardonnay, since even a victory on the last day for Chardonnay and a DNC for Mind the Gap will not overcome the resulting tie-break at 12 points each.

"We are very happy with the result because it was a European Championship course with a good field of boats. We sailed badly on the first day of the coastal race and this put us in the situation of not being able to make mistakes in all the subsequent races. I thank all the crew that have done an exceptional job and great thanks also goes obviously to our owners, young sailors who have chosen to compete in ORC Sportboat racing and believed in this challenge that we have won today."

On the other hand, the fight for the remaining steps of the podium is still open with Chardonnay, who holds on to second place with a 4-point margin over the Dutch Esse 850 Khulala, who in turn is in third place but leading Division A and is the top Corinthian entry in the standings. And they are only 1 point ahead of another Division A and Corinthian rival, Davide Rapotez’s Melges 24 Destriero, who was the fleet winner of Race 1.

The ORC Sportboat European Championship 2018 continues tomorrow with the last races of the series that will determine the final podium positions in both divisions.



to the top ↑