Solid turnout at the XX Trofeo SM La Reina in Valencia


29 June 2018

  This year the XXth Trofeo SM La Reina at Real Club Nautico Valencia has a very high level cast in the competition, with 70 boats in contention among which are the current champions of the Copa del Rey, the SM La Reina Trophy, Palmavela, the Castellón Costa-Azahar Regatta or the Rolex Giraglia Race. Friday will begin the competition at sea, with two windward-leeward events scheduled each day for all classes except the Open class, which will complete a coastal route each of the next three days of the regatta.

The Spanish Navy, an institution to which the regatta pays homage, is competing this year in Valencian waters with two boats, the classic Sirius IV, which arrives from Cartagena, and the new Aifos, a ClubSwan 50. Admiral Jaime Rodríguez-Toubes, who can boast of having competed in all editions of the SM La Reina Trophy, will be at the helm of this latest-generation sailboat that has already sailed in Palmavela under the name of A5.

The current champions of the SM La Reina Trophy in the ORC 1 and 2 classes are returning this year to Valencia with a thirst for victory. The current overall champion, Rafael Carbonell’s Swan 45 Rats on Fire, will again have the three-time world champion of the J/80 Class Rayco Tabares as skipper, a sailor who has already won numerous triumphs in the Copa del Rey and the Conde de Codó Trophy with this boat.

Also competing in this class are the champions of the last Rolex Giraglia Race and runner-up of the last SM La Reina Trophy: Luis Senís’s Porrón IX; José Vicent’s DK46 Phonemovil, winner of Palmavela, as well as powerful teams like Brujo, Alberto de Castro’s new Swan 45; Toni Garriga and Pablo Guiu’s Roch Sercotel - ex Audax- from RCM Barcelona; Daniel Adrián’s canary-colored Adrián Hoteles – Macaronesia; or José María Messeguer’s Pez de Abril of the CN Portman.

In ORC 2 class Pedro Gil’s Torrevejense Maverta will also seek to repeat the triumph of last year, but will face again the second-placed finisher in the last edition of this event, Alexandre Laplaza’s Barcelona L'Immens Laplaza Assesors, as well as Majoche, vessel of the president of RCN Valencia, Javier de Tomás’s Genius 4, Eduardo Genovés’s La Estrella Azul, and Javier Rodríguez-Santos’s Barbafeita.

Among the competitors of Class ORC 3, there is Carlos and José Luis Francés’s Zas Sailing with a history of good results, who will fight for the title with the Spaniard Vell Marí V - Airlan Aermec, Federico Linares’s Madrileño Brujo, Pablo Nogueroles’s Kalamadurrio of CN Altea, Millán Álvarez Finally 3, Pablo Vañó’s Defender, Pedro Agudo’s Cádiz Sálvora II, among others.

The ORC 4 class will have the champion of last year in ORC 3, Gonzalo Calvo’s Saona, as well as the third place finisher, Manuel Alejandro’s Enriarero - Puerto de Indias. And the Open class, which will not be scoring as an international regatta, will encompass all those boats with specific cruise or family characteristics.

New trophies
In addition to the prizes to the top three finishers in each class, and the cup for the absolute winner of the regatta, the RCN Valencia will present three new trophies this year: to the best Swan class boat, to the best Swan 42, boats that participate in ORC 0 and 1 and the best First 40.7, the latter in competition in the ORC 2 class.



to the top ↑