Tallinn Fleet Race Championship

 21 September 2020


On September 12-13 a traditional Fleet Race Championship was held on windward-leeward courses in Talinn to determine the champions of Tallinn. The Race Committee managed to deliver 4 races on the first race day to 13 boats in ORC I, 8 boats in ORC II and 4 boats in ORC IV groups in strong but shifty winds of 16-20 knots, with gusts of 22-26 knots. On Sunday, however, the races were abandoned ashore due to much stronger winds for that day.

In the ORC I group (13 yachts) the winning team was Matilda 4 (J-112 E, Kalev Yacht Club) with skipper Mati Sepp. Of the four races held, Matilda 4 won all four. This yacht was last year's ORC European Champion, this year's A. Le Coq Moonsund Regatta champion, this year's Estonian-Finnish ORC champion within the Baltic Offshore Week regatta and now also the Tallinn champion.
2nd place - Adelante (J-112 E, Kalev YC) - skipper Andrus Luht
3rd place - Olympic (X-41 mod, Dago YC) - skipper Tiit Vihul

In the ORC II group (8 yachts) the team of skipper Aivar Tuulberg on Katariina II (Arcona 340, Pärnu YC) was victorious, scoring first in four out of four races. Katariina II possess titles in the 2019 and 2017 ORC European Championship, Silver and 2016 championship titles, in addition to a number of Estonian and Finnish ORC championship titles.
2nd place - Directo (Italia 9.98, Kalev YC) – skipper Erki Melts
3rd place - Jazz (First 34.7, Kalev YC) – skipper Andres Laul

In the ORC III group only four teams competed, of which only two yachts received results in all four races. All four bullets were taken by the Lagle III (Finn Express 83) team led by Ülari Velviste followed by Planeer (First 31.7LR) of Olari Karlson and Vesileenu (Polaris) of Imre Marmor.






to the top ↑