Miami - Nassau Race: First race of 2021-22 SORC

17 November 2021


Since 1934, some of the best offshore sailors in the world have battled for the prestigious Miami to Nassau Cup, including Ted Turner, Dennis Conner, Dick Bertram, and Ted Hood, aboard legendary boats like Running Tide, Windward Passage, Tenacious, and Boomerang. Half a generation after World War II forced a short intermission, the race became part of the fabled Southern Ocean Racing Conference in the 1980s until the seriesí dissolution in the 1980s. Building on the raceís welcome rebirth in 2003, the new SORC, a group of race-veteran race managers, announced its management of the Nassau Cup Race in 2010.

Starting in South Florida, racers leave Great Isaacs Light to starboard and proceed past Great Stirrup Light, finally finishing at Nassau harbor. The current course record was set in the 2012 race by Ron O'Hanley on the yacht Privateer with an elapsed time of 13 hours, 31 minutes and 30 seconds. Todayís modern boats just need the right conditions to claim this legendary prize, and racers of all types will enjoy the navigational and crew challenge of the race across the Gulf Stream.
The 2021-22 SORC Islands in the Stream Series, which provides five events from November through March along the gulf of Southern Florida, got underway with the 2021 Nassau Cup Ocean Race on November 11. Seventeen teams started off Miami harbor in a solid southeasterly breeze.

John Evans and Trey Sheehan on their TP52 Hooligan led all finishers, completing the course in 21:48:54. Using ORC scoring with the Predominant Upwind Medium course model, Hooligan was first overall, with George Collinís Tripp 62 Chessie Racing in second by 44 minutes and Tim Tuckerís C&C 115 Rockstar in third place by another 34 minutes in corrected time.




to the top ↑